spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Final STS-112 spacewalk completed
Posted: Tue, Oct 15 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
Astronauts wrapped up their work outside the International Space Station on Monday, completing several tasks to finish the integration of a new station truss segment....

Endeavour rolled out for STS-113 launch
Posted: Mon, Oct 14 7:45 PM ET (2345 GMT)
The space shuttle Endeavour was rolled out to the launch pad over the weekend in preparation for its International Space Station crew exchange mission next...

Sirius delays debt payment as it plans recapitalization
Posted: Mon, Oct 14 7:33 PM ET (2333 GMT)
Sirius Satellite Radio announced Friday that it has delayed a scheduled interest payment on its debt as it works out an agreement to recapitalize the...

Cosmonaut added to Soyuz taxi flight
Posted: Mon, Oct 14 9:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)
Russian officials confirmed Friday that a cosmonaut has been added to a Soyuz taxi flight scheduled for launch later this month, taking a seat once...

ESA begins Aurora mission studies
Posted: Mon, Oct 14 8:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
The European Space Agency has approved plans to begin studies of several missions that will part of an effort to develop technologies for future human...

Full House committee approves NASA budget
Posted: Mon, Oct 14 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
The full House Appropriations Committee approved a $15.3 billion budget for NASA in 2003 last week. The full committee passed a budget Wednesday that...

Astronauts complete second STS-112 spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Oct 13 12:16 PM ET (1616 GMT)
Two astronauts carried out the second of three spacewalks for the STS-112 mission on Saturday, performing several tasks outside the International Space Station. Astronauts...

Shenzhou 3 orbital module finishes "important mission"
Posted: Sun, Oct 13 11:55 AM ET (1555 GMT)
The orbital module of China's Shenzhou 3 spacecraft has completed its imaging tasks six months after launch, according to a Chinese media report. The...

Report: US communications satellite vulnerable to hacking
Posted: Sun, Oct 13 11:47 AM ET (1547 GMT)
Commercial communications satellites used by the US government could be disabled or otherwise compromised because of poor security procedures, according to a new report. The...

Small asteroid impact risk reduced
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
Small asteroids are less numerous and thus less likely to collide with the Earth than previously thought, according to a new study. The research, reported...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list