spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Water found in Mars north polar regions
Posted: Sat, Oct 12 8:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
Planetary scientists have confirmed that the north polar regions of Mars have similar deposits of water ice as previously seen in the south. Scientists announced...

Astronauts install ISS truss segment
Posted: Fri, Oct 11 8:47 AM ET (1247 GMT)
The crew of the space shuttle Atlantis, including two spacewalking astronauts, successfully installed a segment of the International Space Station's truss Thursday. Astronauts used...

FCC blocks Echostar-DirecTV merger
Posted: Fri, Oct 11 8:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
The FCC moved Thursday to block Echostar's proposal to merge with DirecTV, forcing the companies to either substantially revise their merger plans or drop...

NASA, Defense Department plan greater cooperation
Posted: Fri, Oct 11 6:57 AM ET (1057 GMT)
NASA and the Defense Department (DoD) signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) this week that will permit greater cooperation between the two agencies on a...

Scientists: Pluto may be warming
Posted: Thu, Oct 10 8:48 AM ET (1248 GMT)
Planetary scientists analyzing recent observations of the planet Pluto now believe that the planet may be warming, and not cooling as previously thought. A team...

Atlantis docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 9 2:38 PM ET (1838 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis successfully docked with the International Space Station on schedule Wednesday morning. The shuttle docked with the Destiny module of the station...

Russian space tourism TV show planned
Posted: Wed, Oct 9 10:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
A Russian television network, possibly in cooperation with an American producer, is planning a reality TV show whose winner would fly to space on a...

Astrophysicists win Nobel Physics Prize
Posted: Wed, Oct 9 7:14 AM ET (1114 GMT)
Three physicists from the US and Japan have won the 2002 Nobel Prize for their work in x-ray and neutrino astronomy. One half of...

Russia may add cosmonaut to Soyuz taxi flight
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 1:29 PM ET (1729 GMT)
The Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos is considering adding a cosmonaut to the crew of this month’s Soyuz taxi flight to the ISS, replacing would-...

House proposal for NASA budget includes funding for Pluto, Europa missions
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 1:07 PM ET (1707 GMT)
The House Appropriations Committee has proposed adding funding for missions to Pluto and Europa in NASA's 2003 budget, the committee announced Monday. The committee...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list