spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: space tourism could become billion-dollar industry in 20 years
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
A report published Monday by the Futron Corporation concludes that space tourism could develop into an industry with revenues of over $1 billion a year...

Astronomers discover giant Kuiper Belt object
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 7:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
Two Caltech astronomers announced Monday that they have discovered the largest Kuiper Belt object found to date, an icy body half the size of the...

EchoStar trying to salvage DirecTV merger
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 7:36 AM ET (1136 GMT)
Concerned that the federal government will nix its proposed merger, satellite television providers EchoStar and DirecTV are proposing major concessions to try and keep the...

Atlantis lifts off on STS-112
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis launched on schedule Monday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis lifted off from Pad 39B of the...

Delta 4 moves closer to launch
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 2:40 PM ET (1840 GMT)
The inaugural Delta 4 has taken another step towards launch with the successful completion of a series of tanking tests, Boeing announced Monday. The sixth...

Shuttle ready for launch Monday
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis is ready for a Monday afternoon launch on a mission to the International Space Station, NASA officials said. Shuttle managers announced...

GAO recommends NASA delay SLI review
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 7:21 AM ET (1121 GMT)
A report released last week by the General Accounting Office (GAO) recommends that NASA complete several tasks before proceeding with portions of the Space Launch...

Astronomers observe life cycle of black hole jets
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 7:16 AM ET (1116 GMT)
Astronomers announced last week that they have observed for the first time the full life cycle of jets of material emitted from the vicinity of...

Astronomers discover new moons around planet, asteroid
Posted: Sat, Oct 5 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
Two groups of astronomers announced this week the discoveries of new moons around the planet Uranus and a main belt asteroid. On Monday astronomers reported...

TDRS-I finally reaches GEO
Posted: Sat, Oct 5 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
A NASA communications satellite launched earlier this year but temporarily stranded in a transfer orbit has finally reached geosynchronous orbit, the space agency announced this...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list