spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Lawsuit filed against EchoStar-DirecTV merger
Posted: Fri, Nov 1 6:42 AM ET (1142 GMT)
The US Justice Department and 23 states have filed suit in federal court to stop the merger of satellite television providers EchoStar and DirecTV. The...

Next space tourist may be Russian
Posted: Fri, Nov 1 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)
The next tourist to fly on a Soyuz taxi flight to the International Space Station may be Russian, according to the head of the Russian...

Europan "freckles" sign of water movement
Posted: Fri, Nov 1 6:21 AM ET (1121 GMT)
Planetary scientists have found reddish features on the surface of Jupiter's moon Europa that could be evidence of water moving up and down under...

Pad mishap delays Delta launch
Posted: Wed, Oct 30 11:48 PM ET (0448 GMT)
An accident at the launch pad last week has indefinitely delayed the launch of a GPS satellite on a Delta 2 booster. According to published...

Soyuz launches ISS taxi mission
Posted: Wed, Oct 30 7:55 AM ET (1255 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a taxi mission to the International Space Station late Tuesday night. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur at 10:11...

STS-113 launch may slip one day
Posted: Tue, Oct 29 10:45 PM ET (0345 GMT)
NASA is considering delaying the launch of the shuttle Endeavour by one day to compensate for the delay in the launch of a Soyuz taxi...

NASA issues Kepler contracts
Posted: Tue, Oct 29 10:36 PM ET (0336 GMT)
NASA announced Monday that it has issued contracts worth over $30 million to two companies developing key components for the Kepler planet-finding mission. NASA...

NASA planning long-duration shuttle visits to ISS
Posted: Tue, Oct 29 10:45 AM ET (1545 GMT)
NASA is considering having space shuttles spend up to two weeks at a time docked to the International Space Station to help overcome the limitations...

EchoStar tries to salvage merger by creating new competitor
Posted: Tue, Oct 29 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
Satellite TV company EchoStar is trying to salvage its proposed merger with DirecTV by helping a rival company create its own satellite TV service. Several...

Chandra data bolsters dark matter
Posted: Mon, Oct 28 8:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)
Observations of a distant galaxy by the Chandra X-Ray Observatory have offered new support for the dark matter model by providing evidence against an...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 23
NASA, Iridium carpooled on Tuesday’s SpaceX mission
Los Angeles Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list