spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Lockheed Martin reports flat space earnings
Posted: Mon, Oct 28 7:50 AM ET (1250 GMT)
Lockheed Martin reported relatively flat revenues and earnings for its space systems division on Friday. In the fiscal third quarter the company's space systems...

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sun, Oct 27 11:53 AM ET (1653 GMT)
China announced early Sunday that it launched an imaging satellite designed for remote sensing or military reconnaissance work. A Long March 4B rocket lifted off...

French government plans CNES audit
Posted: Sun, Oct 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)
The French government plans to create a commission to examine the CNES space agency after many of the agency's employees called for the resignation...

Orbital reports profit, wins satellite contract
Posted: Sat, Oct 26 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)
Orbital Sciences Corporation reported a profit in its fiscal third quarter on Friday, and won a commercial communications satellite contract one day later. Orbital reported...

Astronomers use new technique to discover small exoplanet
Posted: Fri, Oct 25 8:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)
Astronomers announced this week that they have used a new technique to find the smallest extrasolar planet discovered to date. The astronomers, from the University...

NASA planning crew transfer vehicle for ISS
Posted: Thu, Oct 24 9:38 PM ET (0138 GMT)
NASA is actively considering developing a crew transfer vehicle (CTV) that would be launched on an expendable vehicle to carry astronauts to and from the...

ISS radiation shielding not as good as hoped
Posted: Thu, Oct 24 9:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
Upgraded radiation shielding on the International Space Station is not working as well as expected, New Scientist reported Wednesday. According to the report, radiation levels...

Ariane 5 launch pushed back
Posted: Wed, Oct 23 7:52 PM ET (2352 GMT)
The first launch of an upgraded version of the Ariane 5 booster has been delayed from early to late November, Arianespace announced this week. The...

NASA delays SLI review
Posted: Tue, Oct 22 8:10 PM ET (0010 GMT)
NASA announced Monday that it has delayed a key milestone in the Space Launch Initiative as the agency works to revamp the program. NASA had...

Molniya launch delayed, Soyuz launch rescheduled for October 29
Posted: Tue, Oct 22 2:39 PM ET (1839 GMT)
Russian officials said that the launch of a Molniya-M booster, scheduled for Tuesday, has been delayed an unspecified amount of time while the investigation...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list