spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report recommends shuttle privatization
Posted: Mon, Oct 21 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
A report commissioned by NASA suggests that the agency further privatize shuttle operations, including possibly transferring ownership of the orbiters to a private corporation or...

Students to participate in Mars rover missions
Posted: Sun, Oct 20 6:56 PM ET (2256 GMT)
The Planetary Society announced last week that students will have an opportunity to join scientists involved with the twin Mars Exploration Rovers scheduled for launch...

Final NASA budget delayed until November
Posted: Sun, Oct 20 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)
Congress will wait until after the November general election to complete work on NASA's 2003 budget. Both the House of Representatives and the Senate...

ISS to host World Series first pitch
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
The International Space Station will be home to the ceremonial first pitch of the 2002 World Series, the championship of Major League Baseball, Saturday evening....

Soyuz launch delayed
Posted: Fri, Oct 18 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)
Russian officials announced Friday that they were delaying the launch of a Soyuz taxi mission for up to several days while an investigation into a...

Atlantis lands at KSC
Posted: Fri, Oct 18 2:35 PM ET (1835 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis landed at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida Friday morning, bringing the 11-day STS-112 mission to a successful close....

Sirius to convert debt to equity, sell additional shares
Posted: Fri, Oct 18 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Sirius Satellite Radio announced a series of measures Thursday that will convert debt to equity and raise additional money, allowing the company to continue operations...

NASA investigating bolt problem with Atlantis launch
Posted: Fri, Oct 18 7:43 AM ET (1143 GMT)
Shuttle officials are looking into a problem with explosive bolts that failed to fire properly during the launch of the space shuttle Atlantis last week....

Engine failure suspected in Soyuz explosion; ISS launch may be delayed
Posted: Thu, Oct 17 2:25 PM ET (1825 GMT)
Russian officials believe that an engine on the Soyuz booster launched late Tuesday failed shortly after launch, causing the crash that killed one person on...

Proton launches Integral observatory
Posted: Thu, Oct 17 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
A Russian Proton booster successfully launched Integral, a European gamma-ray observatory, early Thursday. The Proton lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list