spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton M inaugurual launch a success
Posted: Sat, Apr 7 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
A Proton M, the newest version of the Russian heavy-lift launcher,successfully lifted off Saturday on its first flight. The rocket lifted off from...

Endeavour cleared for April 19 launch
Posted: Fri, Apr 6 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
NASA decided Thursday to launch the space shuttle Endeavour on April 19 after considering proposals to move up or back the launch date. NASA had...

Commercial space industry shows solid growth in 2000
Posted: Thu, Apr 5 2:09 PM ET (1809 GMT)
Commercial space industry revenues grew by 17 percent last year to $81 billion dollars, a study released Thursday concluded. The Global Satellite Industry Indicators Survey,...

Endeavour launch could be rescheduled
Posted: Thu, Apr 5 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)
NASA is considering rescheduling the launch of the space shuttle Endeavour later this month to avoid a "traffic jam" at the International Space Station, but...

NASA still grappling with space station cost overrun
Posted: Wed, Apr 4 2:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)
NASA administrator Dan Goldin told members of the House Science Committee Wednesday that agency is still coming to terms with the effects $4 billion overrun...

NASA cancels next astronaut class
Posted: Wed, Apr 4 10:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
NASA has canceled plans to select a new astronaut class later this year, the first such cancellation in over a decade, NASA officials confirmed this...

No compromise reached on Tito flight
Posted: Wed, Apr 4 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
A US-Russian working group was unable to reach an agreement last week regarding the flight late this month of California millionaire Dennis Tito. A...

Sun unleashes biggest flare ever recorded
Updated: Tue, Apr 3 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Apr 3 11:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
The most powerful solar flare ever recorded was detected late Monday, but astronomers said that it should not pose a major threat to the Earth....

Distant supernova confirms accelerating universe
Posted: Tue, Apr 3 1:36 AM ET (0536 GMT)
The most distant supernova yet discovered has provided new evidence that the universe is expanding at an accelerating rate, astronomers said Monday. The supernova, designated...

ISS crew says they'd welcome Tito aboard
Posted: Sat, Mar 31 1:40 PM ET (1840 GMT)
The three members of the Expedition Two crew aboard the International Space Station said Friday they would welcome California millionaire Dennis Tito if visits the...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list