spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Boeing alters commercial satellite line
Posted: Mon, Mar 28 8:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)
The Boeing Company announced plans last week to modify its lineup of commercial communications satellite, introducing a modified version of its largest satellite while retiring...

Report criticizes shuttle workforce planning
Posted: Sun, Mar 27 9:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
A report released Thursday concludes that NASA has not done nearly enough to maintain its shuttle workforce as the program winds down this decade. The...

Deep Impact camera blurry
Posted: Fri, Mar 25 8:27 PM ET (0127 GMT)
Images taken by the camera on NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft are slightly out of focus, NASA announced Friday, although the space agency downplayed the...

Boeing to reintroduce Delta 4 on commercial market
Posted: Thu, Mar 24 1:40 PM ET (1840 GMT)
In an unexpected move, a Boeing executive said Wednesday that company plans to reintroduce its Delta 4 vehicle on the commercial market later this year,...

NASA announces first Centennial Challenges prizes
Posted: Thu, Mar 24 7:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
NASA will fund prize competitions in 2005 and 2006 to develop new tether and power transmission technologies in conjunction with a private foundation, the space...

SES awards satellite, launch contracts
Posted: Thu, Mar 24 7:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
SES Americom announced Wednesday that it had awarded a satellite manufacturing contract to Lockheed Martin and a launch contract to Arianespace for a relatively small...

NASA to enhance public safety around shuttle
Posted: Wed, Mar 23 8:16 AM ET (1316 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers said Tuesday that they are planning new measures to protect the public from the potential hazards of shuttle liftoffs and landings. At...

Spitzer detects light from exoplanets
Posted: Tue, Mar 22 6:59 PM ET (2359 GMT)
Astronomers announced Tuesday that they have seen for the first time light coming directly from two extrasolar planets. In separate studies, astronomers reported that they...

Air Force space leader Teets retires
Posted: Sat, Mar 19 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)
Peter Teets, acting secretary of the US Air Force and the leading Defense Department official on space issues, announced his resignation Friday. Teets, who had...

ISS gyro problem will not delay shuttle launch
Posted: Fri, Mar 18 7:18 AM ET (1218 GMT)
NASA officials said Thursday that the failure of a gyroscope on the International Space Station earlier this week will not force them to delay the...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list