spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Workaround found for Deep Impact camera problem
Posted: Fri, Jun 10 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
Engineers will use software tools to compensate for a focus problem with the main camera on NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft, project officials said Thursday....

Possible volcano spotted on Titan
Posted: Fri, Jun 10 8:08 AM ET (1208 GMT)
Scientists reported this week that they have identified what may be an "ice volcano" on the surface of Saturn's moon Titan. In a paper...

Panel closes more CAIB recommendations
Posted: Thu, Jun 9 8:38 AM ET (1238 GMT)
An independent panel said Wednesday that NASA has now met 12 of the 15 recommendations in the final report of the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (...

NASA exploration chief to resign
Posted: Thu, Jun 9 8:26 AM ET (1226 GMT)
Craig Steidle, NASA's associate administrator for exploration, will resign from the space agency later this month after turning down a reassignment. Steidle told employees...

House committee approves NASA budget
Posted: Wed, Jun 8 8:38 AM ET (1238 GMT)
The full House Appropriations Committee approved a budget bill that would provide full funding for nearly all NASA programs in 2006. The committee approved a $...

ESA to proceed with MARSIS deployment
Posted: Wed, Jun 8 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
The European Space Agency announced Tuesday that it plans to go ahead later this month with the deployment of a second 20-meter radar boom...

Arianespace reshuffles launch schedule
Posted: Tue, Jun 7 1:51 PM ET (1751 GMT)
Arianespace announced Monday that it has postponed the launch of an Ariane 5 carrying two commercial communications satellites, moving it behind next month's launch...

Mars rover escapes sand dune
Posted: Mon, Jun 6 8:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
NASA's Mars rover Opportunity, stuck in a sand dune for over a month, has finally freed itself, project scientists announced over the weekend. In...

Phoenix mission cleared for launch
Posted: Fri, Jun 3 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)
NASA announced Thursday that it has approved plans to proceed with launch preparations for Phoenix, a Mars lander mission slated for launch in 2007. The...

NASA selects Jupiter mission
Posted: Thu, Jun 2 8:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
NASA has selected a Jupiter orbiter mission as the next mission in its New Frontiers program, the agency announced Wednesday. The Juno spacecraft will fly...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list