spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Inmarsat plans IPO
Posted: Thu, Jun 2 8:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
Satellite operator Inmarsat announced Wednesday that will conduct an initial public offering (IPO) of stock later this year, a move that will raise nearly $700...

GAO report criticizes NASA for ISS resupply studies
Posted: Wed, Jun 1 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
A report issued Tuesday by the Government Accountability Office (GAO) criticized NASA for alternatives for transporting supplies to the International Space Station. The report said...

Foton microgravity science mission launched
Posted: Tue, May 31 1:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)
A Russian rocket successfully launched a spacecraft Tuesday carrying experiments, including live animals, designed to study the effects of microgravity. The Soyuz rocket launched the...

Report: Loral wins XM satellite contract
Posted: Tue, May 31 6:41 AM ET (1041 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio has awarded a contract for a new satellite to Space Systems/Loral, a surprise move that is a blow to Boeing's...

New Energia president elected
Posted: Mon, May 30 10:08 AM ET (1408 GMT)
Shareholders of Russian aerospace corporation Energia elected a new president on Saturday, replacing its long-time leader with a man backed by the Russian government....

Falcon performs pad engine test
Posted: Sat, May 28 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)
The first Falcon 1, a new small launch vehicle developed by an aerospace startup company, successfully performed an engine test on its launch pad Friday,...

Orbital Sciences under federal probe
Posted: Fri, May 27 2:38 PM ET (1838 GMT)
Two Orbital Sciences Corporation facilities, including the company's headquarters, were searched by federal investigators Thursday as part of a probe into the aerospace company'...

Discovery returns to VAB
Posted: Fri, May 27 8:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
NASA rolled back the space shuttle Discovery to the Vehicle Assembly Building on Thursday to replace its external tank, part of preparations for a July...

Potential space tourist resumes training
Posted: Thu, May 26 6:40 AM ET (1040 GMT)
Gregory Olsen, a millionaire US businessman whose bid to fly into space last year was stymied by a medical condition, has resumed training for a...

Voyager at edge of solar system
Posted: Wed, May 25 5:33 AM ET (0933 GMT)
Space scientists said Tuesday that NASA's Voyager 1 spacecraft has reached the frontier of the solar system, a turbulent boundary between interplanetary and interstellar...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list