space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Atlas launches military communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 11 6:36 AM ET (1036 GMT)
An Atlas 5 launched the first in a new series of military communications satellites on Wednesday evening. The Atlas 5 421 lifted off from Space...

NASA studying shuttle RCC problem
Posted: Thu, Oct 11 6:20 AM ET (1020 GMT)
NASA officials are investigating a potential problem with several leading-edge wing panels on the shuttle Discovery that could force an extended launch delay. Shuttle...

Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 10 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying a three-person crew, including the first female space station commander and first Malaysian cosmonaut, launched on a journey to the...

FUSE mission to end this month
Posted: Wed, Oct 10 6:17 AM ET (1017 GMT)
An orbiting ultraviolet observatory will shut down later this month after more than eight years of observations, project officials announced this week. The Far Ultraviolet...

Wiring blamed for Proton failure
Posted: Wed, Oct 10 6:08 AM ET (1008 GMT)
Russian investigators have identified faulty wiring as the cause of the launch failure of a Proton rocket last month, officials said Tuesday. Anatoly Perminov, head...

SSTL signs contract for launch of two microsats
Posted: Wed, Oct 10 5:58 AM ET (0958 GMT)
UK smallsat manufacturer Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd announced Monday that it has signed a contract to launch two spacecraft on a Dnepr booster next year....

Ariane launches two satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 6 5:47 AM ET (0947 GMT)
An Ariane 5 launched two communications satellites for customers in the US and Australia on Friday evening. The Ariane 5 GS lifted off from Kourou,...

Japanese spacecraft enters lunar orbit
Posted: Fri, Oct 5 8:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
A Japanese lunar probe launched last month has entered orbit around the Moon, the Japanese space agency JAXA announced Friday. The Kaguya spacecraft fired its...

Senate approves extra $1 billion for NASA
Posted: Fri, Oct 5 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
The US Senate approved Thursday an amendment to an appropriations bill that would add $1 billion to NASA's proposed fiscal year 2008 budget. The...

Scientists see comets, sun interact
Posted: Tue, Oct 2 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
A solar storm ripped away one comet's tail while another comet slowed down the solar wind far from the Sun, astronomers said on Monday....

news in brief
Atlas 5 launches GOES-S weather satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 2:11 PM ET (1911 GMT)

GAO warns of more JWST delays
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 2:08 PM ET (1908 GMT)

Soyuz returns crew to Earth
Posted: Sat, Mar 3 2:03 PM ET (1903 GMT)

news links
Saturday, March 17
Tory Bruno of United Launch Alliance to visit CU Boulder
Univ. of Colorado — 9:02 am ET (1302 GMT)
SpaceX is making big money moves
TechCrunch — 9:00 am ET (1300 GMT)
Air Force: GPS Satellites Vulnerable to Attack
Washington Free Beacon — 8:57 am ET (1257 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list