spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: October 4
Posted: Fri, Oct 5 12:34 AM ET (0434 GMT)
The Air Force has finally cleared a Titan 4B to launch a classified military satellite Friday. The launch, delayed since Monday because of a number...

No single cause for X-43 failure
Posted: Fri, Oct 5 12:19 AM ET (0419 GMT)
Investigators now believe that the launch failure of NASA's X-43A experimental vehicle will not be traced to a single root cause. A board...

Lockheed Martin to build 2005 NASA Mars spacecraft
Posted: Thu, Oct 4 12:15 PM ET (1615 GMT)
NASA announced Wendesday that it has selected Lockheed Martin to build the spacecraft for the agency's next orbital mission to the Red Planet, the...

News briefs: October 3
Posted: Thu, Oct 4 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)
Another day, another delay. The launch of a Titan 4B on a classified military mission has been postponed another day, to Friday, the Air Force...

Bolt problem will not delay shuttle mission
Posted: Wed, Oct 3 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
A problem with misshapen bolt holes found on one shuttle will not delay the late November launch of the shuttle Endeavour, the Houston Chronicle reported...

News briefs: October 2
Posted: Wed, Oct 3 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
The launch of a Titan 4B carrying a classified military payload has been pushed back again, this time to Thursday. Spaceflight Now reported late Tuesday...

Report predicts modest increase in commercial launches next year
Posted: Wed, Oct 3 12:00 AM ET (0400 GMT)
A report published Monday by the Futron Corporation predicts that there will be a modest increase in the number of commercial satellites launched in 2002...

News briefs: October 1
Posted: Mon, Oct 1 11:58 PM ET (0358 GMT)
The Air Force has once again pushed back the launch of a Titan 4B booster, officials announced late Monday. The launch, already delayed a day...

News briefs: September 29-30
Posted: Mon, Oct 1 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
The Air Force postponed the launch of a Titan 4B booster late Sunday evening, citing unspecified technical problems. The rocket was scheduled to lift off...

Athena launches from Alaska
Posted: Sat, Sep 29 11:57 PM ET (0357 GMT)
An Athena 1 rocket launched a set of satellites for NASA and the Defense Department Saturday evening. The Athena 1 lifted off from the Kodiak...



news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 15
First Images from OSIRIS REx Mission Have Scientists Buzzing with Excitement
Univ. of Central Florida — 2:07 pm ET (1907 GMT)
NASA’s First Stellar Observatory, OAO 2, Turns 50
NASA/GSFC — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)
Taming turbulence: Seeking to make complex simulations a breeze
Univ. of Wisconsin — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list