spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: November 10-11
Posted: Mon, Nov 12 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
Four space shuttle astronauts were inducted into the US Astronaut Hall of Fame in a ceremony Saturday. Bob Crippen, Joe Engle, Rick Hauck, and Dick...

US, India to discuss space cooperation
Posted: Sun, Nov 11 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)
The United States and India will begin discussions on civilian space cooperation proposals, the leaders of the two nations announced Friday. In a joint statement...

Genesis battery temperature not a problem
Posted: Sun, Nov 11 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
Officials with NASA's Genesis mission say that a high temperature in a battery on the spacecraft should not pose a risk. In articles published...

News briefs: November 9
Posted: Sat, Nov 10 11:52 AM ET (1652 GMT)
NASA selected two instruments Friday for its 2005 Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter mission. The HiRISE high-resolution camera and the CRISM hyperspectral imaging spectrometer will join...

International partners concerned about NASA's role in ISS
Posted: Fri, Nov 9 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)
Statements by several of the international partners in the International Space Station project this week have raised concerns about NASA's ability to meet its...

News briefs: November 8
Posted: Fri, Nov 9 9:57 AM ET (1457 GMT)
A new survey has reduced estimates of the number of asteroids in the solar system, and thus the risk of an impact by one. Astronomers...

Congress reaches agreement on 2002 NASA budget
Posted: Thu, Nov 8 1:00 PM ET (1800 GMT)
A House-Senate conference committee agreed Wednesday on a $14.8-billion budget for NASA for fiscal year 2002 that includes funding for a Pluto...

Cause of Taurus launch failure identified
Posted: Thu, Nov 8 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
Investigators believe a stuck steering mechanism caused the September 21 failure of a Taurus booster, the president of Orbital Sciences Corporation said Wednesday. According to...

News briefs: November 7
Posted: Thu, Nov 8 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Lockheed Martin announced plans Wednesday to eliminate 360 jobs in its Space Systems division. The reductions will be spread out between its Colorado and California...

Shuttle launch preparations continue under tight security
Posted: Wed, Nov 7 4:20 PM ET (2120 GMT)
The crew of shuttle mission STS-108 arrived at the Kennedy Space Center Tuesday for a launch rehearsal under tight security conditions. Florida Today reported...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, November 22
New project puts Denmark firmly on the space map
Copenhagen Post — 1:16 am ET (0616 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list