spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: January 24
Posted: Fri, Jan 25 8:44 AM ET (1344 GMT)
The structural framework of the X-33 experimental vehicle will be preserved for future tests, SPACE.com reported this week. In late December the Air...

Columbia rollout delayed by crawler problem
Posted: Thu, Jan 24 12:27 PM ET (1727 GMT)
The rollout of the space shuttle Columbia was put on hold Wednesday when the giant crawler transporter that hauls the shuttle stack to the pad...

News briefs: January 23
Posted: Thu, Jan 24 10:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
US Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) cautioned new NASA administrator Sean O'Keefe not to closely tie NASA to the Defense Department, Space News reported...

Ariane launches Indian communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Jan 23 11:19 PM ET (0419 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched an Indian communications satellite Wednesday evening after overcoming a last-second computer glitch. The Ariane 42L lifted off at...

News briefs: January 22
Posted: Wed, Jan 23 8:48 AM ET (1348 GMT)
Two scientists have come up with an alternative explanation for phenomena known today as black holes. The astronomers believe that what most astronomers currently believe...

Putin says he supports Russian space program
Posted: Wed, Jan 23 8:34 AM ET (1334 GMT)
Russian president Vladimir Putin publicly announced his strong support for Russia's space program Monday, calling it vital to national security. Speaking at a Khrunichev...

News briefs: January 21
Posted: Tue, Jan 22 10:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
China is developing a space policy which may include staking claims on territory in space, SpaceDaily reported Monday. The article outlined a new Chinese space...

More Soyuz space tourist flights planned
Posted: Tue, Jan 22 12:36 AM ET (0536 GMT)
There may be a space tourist on each Soyuz taxi flight to the International Space Station in the foreseeable future, SPACE.com recently reported. According...

NASA extends EO-1 mission
Posted: Tue, Jan 22 12:22 AM ET (0522 GMT)
NASA announced Friday that it will extend the mission of the Earth Observing 1 (EO-1) spacecraft, a technology demonstration mission under the New Millennium...

Gemini South observatory dedicated
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 2:30 PM ET (1930 GMT)
Astronomers and officials dedicated the Gemini South observatory in Chile on Friday. The 8-meter telescope, atop Cerro Pachon in the Chilean Andes, will join...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list