spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: January 19-20
Posted: Mon, Jan 21 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
The National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA) has ended its contract with Space Imaging to purchase Ikonos satellite images of Afghanistan, Wired News reported. NIMA...

Galileo out of safe mode
Posted: Sat, Jan 19 2:24 PM ET (1924 GMT)
Engineers recovered NASA's Galileo spacecraft from safe mode early Friday, one day after freezing up during its flyby of the Jovian moon Io. Galileo...

News briefs: January 18
Posted: Sat, Jan 19 12:58 PM ET (1758 GMT)
Loral engineers believe they have identified the power problem that affected one of its communications satellites last year, Space News reported Friday. The problem with...

News briefs: January 17
Posted: Fri, Jan 18 8:14 AM ET (1314 GMT)
Ukraine and Brazil agreed this week to cooperate on the development of a new launch vehicle. The two countries hope that the Tsiklon-4 booster,...

Galileo goes into safe mode during Io flyby
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 6:06 PM ET (2306 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft went into safe mode during its close flyby of Jupiter's moon Io Thursday, disrupting observations of the moon. Project officials...

New discoveries offer mixed hopes for Mars life
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 2:08 PM ET (1908 GMT)
Two separate studies published in Thursday's issue of the journal Nature provide both good and bad news for the prospects of microbial life on...

H-2A launch delayed
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 8:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)
The launch of a Japanese H-2A rocket, scheduled for the end of this month, may be pushed back a few days because of weather-...

News briefs: January 16
Posted: Thu, Jan 17 8:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)
As expected, European satellite manufacturer Astrium announced a new chief executive Wednesday, Space News reported. Antoine Bouvier will take over as CEO of the company...

Galileo ready for final Io flyby
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 7:56 PM ET (0056 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft will fly by Jupiter's volcanic moon Io for the final time on Thursday. Galileo will pass just 100 km above...

News briefs: January 15
Posted: Wed, Jan 16 9:03 AM ET (1403 GMT)
The Pegasus XL launch of NASA's High Energy Solar Spectroscopic Imager (HESSI) spacecraft has been delayed again, until at least February 1, SPACE.com...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list