spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Galileo ready for final Io flyby
Posted: Wed, Jan 16, 2002, 7:56 PM ET (0056 GMT)
Galileo at Jupiter illustration NASA's Galileo spacecraft will fly by Jupiter's volcanic moon Io for the final time on Thursday. Galileo will pass just 100 km above Io's surface at 9:09 am EST (1409 GMT) Thursday, the last in a series of close flybys of the moon, the innermost of Jupiter's four Galilean large moons. The flyby, the closest to date of Io, is required to set Galileo on a trajectory that will cause it to fall into Jupiter on September 2003, a move designed to prevent any chance of the spacecraft colliding with and contaminating Europa. Galileo will fly by Amalthea, a tiny inner moon, in November, but Thursday's flyby will be the last time Galileo's cameras will be used. NASA had previously announced that there would be no imaging at all during this flyby, but decided that the spacecraft's camera was still in good enough condition to operate.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list