spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Philae awakes from hibernation
Posted: Sun, Jun 14 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
The European Space Agency's Philae comet lander contacted Earth this weekend for the first time since shortly after its landing in November. ESA announced...

ISS crew returns to Earth
Posted: Fri, Jun 12 1:52 PM ET (1752 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three ISS crewmembers safely landed in Kazakhstan Thursday. The Soyuz TMA-15M spacecraft landed on target southeast of Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan, at...

Soyuz-2 rocket returns to flight in military launch
Posted: Sat, Jun 6 11:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
A Soyuz-2.1a rocket launched a military satellite Friday in the first launch of that vehicle since the loss of a Progress spacecraft in...

House passes NASA budget
Posted: Sat, Jun 6 11:18 AM ET (1518 GMT)
The US House of Representatives approved Wednesday an appropriations bill that provides $18.5 billion for NASA in fiscal year 2016, but transfer funds among...

Canada extends role on ISS through 2024
Posted: Fri, Jun 5 5:14 PM ET (2114 GMT)
The Canadian government announced this week that it will extend its commitment to the International Space Station through 2024, allowing the nation's two current...

Progress failure blamed on "design peculiarity" with rocket
Posted: Fri, Jun 5 5:01 PM ET (2101 GMT)
The loss of a Progress spacecraft launched in April was caused by an unforeseen interaction between the spacecraft and its upper stage, Russian investigators said...

Proton failure blamed on third stage engine malfunction
Posted: Sat, May 30 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)
The Russian space agency Roscosmos said Friday that the failure of a Proton launch earlier in the month was caused by the failure of the...

Ariane 5 launches two broadcasting satellites
Posted: Thu, May 28 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully launched two direct TV broadcasting satellites for DIRECTV and a Mexican affiliate Wednesday. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off on schedule...

Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 11:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)
The US Air Force said Tuesday it has completed the certification of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket, allowing the company to compete for at least...

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 11:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday it has selected nine instruments it plans to include on a planned mission to Jupiter's moon Europa in the 2020s. The...



news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 18
Trump's vision for Space Force may get boost
Washington Times — 6:06 am ET (1106 GMT)
Delta IV Heavy rocket approved to launch from Vandenberg on Tuesday
San Luis Obispo (CA) Tribune — 6:03 am ET (1103 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list