spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA considering commercial rockets for EM-1
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine said Wednesday the agency is considering flying an Orion spacecraft on commercial rockets instead of the SLS. Bridenstine said at a...

White House proposes $21 billion NASA budget for 2020
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
The administration's $21 billion budget proposal for NASA deemphasizes the development of the Space Launch System. The fiscal year 2020 budget requests calls for...

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
China launched a communications satellite Marhc 9. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:28 am EDT (...

Crew Dragon returns to Earth
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
SpaceX's Crew Dragon spacecraft successfully splashed down in the Atlantic Ocean Friday morning, ending a successful uncrewed test flight to the International Space station....

Secretary of the Air Force to step down
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Secretary of the Air Force Heather Wilson, who has played a key role in military space activities, will step down this spring. Wilson informed President...

First SLS launch could be delayed again
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
A NASA official said Tuesday that the agency is "reassessing" the 2020 date for the first launch of the Space Launch System, suggesting further delays...

Canadian space strategy emphasizes key technologies
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:03 AM ET (1403 GMT)
Participation in the lunar Gateway is the centerpiece of Canada's new national space strategy. That strategy, released this week, emphasizes plans announced last week...

Rocket Lab launch slips to second half of March
Posted: Sat, Mar 9 9:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
Rocket Lab is now targeting the second half of March for its first Electron launch of the year. The company said Wednesday it plans to...

NASA approves plans for SpaceX commercial crew test flight
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:30 PM ET (2230 GMT)
NASA and SpaceX completed a flight readiness review Friday that allows the company to move ahead with an upcoming uncrewed test of its commercial crew...

SpaceShipTwo flies to the edge of space again
Posted: Sat, Feb 23 5:29 PM ET (2229 GMT)
Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo suborbital vehicle flew its highest flight to date Friday and the first to carry more than two people on board. VSS...



news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list