spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


High winds delay Rockot launch
Posted: Sat, Mar 16 12:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
High winds led Russian officials to postpone the launch Saturday of the Rockot booster carrying two NASA earth science satellites. The Rockot was scheduled to...

News briefs: March 15
Posted: Sat, Mar 16 11:52 AM ET (1652 GMT)
A near-Earth asteroid passed within 450,000 kilometers from the Earth but was not discovered until after its close approach, New Scientist reported Friday....

Business briefs: March 15
Posted: Sat, Mar 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)
International Launch Services announced Friday that it completed the first major on-pad test of the first Lockheed Martin Atlas 5 booster this week. The...

Russian group unveils suborbital spacecraft prototype
Posted: Fri, Mar 15 8:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
A Russian company displayed Thursday a prototype for a proposed suborbital spacecraft that could transport space tourists. The Cosmopolis 21 (C-21), designed by Myasishchev...

News briefs: March 14
Posted: Fri, Mar 15 7:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)
NASA has created a new online system to track potentially hazardous near-Earth objects. The Sentry system, provided by JPL, is a web site that...

Business briefs: March 14
Posted: Fri, Mar 15 7:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
Satellite communications entrepreneur Craig McCaw said Thursday that he is optimistic about the prospects of satellite constellation ICO, but is uncertain about the fate of...

Mars Odyssey instrument repaired
Posted: Thu, Mar 14 7:52 AM ET (1252 GMT)
An instrument on NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft that malfunctioned last year is working again, NASA reported Wednesday. The Martian Radiation Environment Experiment (MARIE) started...

News briefs: March 13
Posted: Thu, Mar 14 7:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)
Scientists have published new evidence which they believe shows that liquid carbon dioxide, and not water, carved many of the features seen in Mars. Their...

White House drops nominee for NASA #2 position
Posted: Wed, Mar 13 8:20 PM ET (0120 GMT)
The White House has withdrawn the nomination of a Marine general to be the deputy administrator of NASA, the day a Senate confirmation hearing was...

TRW turns down Northrop again
Posted: Wed, Mar 13 7:58 PM ET (0058 GMT)
TRW recommended to its shareholders Wednesday that they not accept a buyout offer from Northrop Grumman. Northrop started a hostile takeover attempt 10 days ago...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list