spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Leaky valve could delay shuttle mission
Posted: Sat, May 25 3:06 AM ET (0706 GMT)
A leaking valve in a cooling system on board shuttle Endeavour could delay its launch to the International Space Station, Spaceflight Now reported late Friday....

Nozomi hobbled by solar flares
Posted: Fri, May 24 8:06 PM ET (0006 GMT)
Controllers have lost communications with Nozomi, a Mars-bound Japanese spacecraft, after solar flares damaged the spacecraft, the AP reported Friday. An official with Japan'...

News briefs: May 23
Posted: Fri, May 24 10:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
A problem with the tape recorder on the Galileo spacecraft could hamper its last scientific flyby later this year. Engineers are trying to troubleshoot a...

Early universe image shows "seeds" of galaxies
Posted: Fri, May 24 8:04 AM ET (1204 GMT)
An image of the very early universe released Thursday includes features that astronomers believe are "seeds" of galaxies yet to form. Astronomers used the Cosmic...

Thick ice crust may shield life on Europa
Posted: Fri, May 24 7:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
Jupiter's moon Europa has the raw materials that could support life, but any life would be under an icy crust thicker than previously thought....

News briefs: May 22
Posted: Thu, May 23 6:59 AM ET (1059 GMT)
One of the experiments flown by South African space tourist Mark Shuttleworth is in danger of being lost because of a bureaucratic snafu, a South...

Report: Mars water announcement expected next week
Posted: Wed, May 22 8:48 PM ET (0048 GMT)
NASA is expected to reveal new evidence of water ice just below the Martian surface during a press conference next week, SpaceRef.com reported Wednesday....

NASA, Air Force to continue RLV cooperation
Posted: Wed, May 22 8:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)
NASA and the US Air Force announced Tuesday that the two organizations plan to continue joint studies of reusable launch vehicle (RLV) technology, including the...

News briefs: May 21
Posted: Wed, May 22 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
Chinese officials Tuesday denied news reports that the country was planning to land people on the Moon by 2010. In an interview with the BBC,...

Poll shows interest in space tourism among affluent
Posted: Tue, May 21 10:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
A poll released Monday shows that substantial numbers of affluent Americans are interested in space tourism. The poll by Zogby International, commissioned by the Futron...



news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list