STS-120 mission coverage
m i s s i o n   n e w s   s u m m a r i e s
m i s s i o n   a r t i c l e s
Shuttle lands in Florida
Posted: Wed, Nov 7 8:20 PM ET (0120 GMT)
STS-120: landing (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Discovery landed in Florida Wednesday afternoon, ending a 15-day mission to upgrade and repair the International Space Station. Discovery landed at the Kennedy Space Center on its first landing opportunity, touching down at 1:01 pm EDT, just over 15 days after it launched to begin mission STS-120. Discovery delivered a new node module, named Harmony, to the ISS, and its crew was called up to repair a solar panel that tore during unfolding after being moved to its permanent location on the station's truss. The orbiter Atlantis is scheduled to launch on the next shuttle mission, STS-122, in about a month on a mission to install the European lab module Columbus on the ISS.


Shuttle undocks from ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 5 12:49 PM ET (1749 GMT)
STS-120: ISS after undocking (NASA) The space shuttle Discovery undocked from the International Space Station on Monday morning after completing a mission to install a new station module and repair a damaged solar panel. Discovery undocked from the station at 5:32 am EST (1032 GMT) and flew around the station, performing a photographic survey, before departing the station's vicinity. The shuttle crew will spend time on Monday checking the leading edges of the orbiter's wings for any damage in advance of their reentry and landing, currently scheduled for 1:02 pm EST (1802 GMT) Wednesday at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida.


Spacewalker repairs ISS solar panel
Posted: Sat, Nov 3 2:29 PM ET (1829 GMT)
A NASA astronaut successfully repaired a torn solar panel on the International Space Station during a daring spacewalk on Saturday. Scott Parazynski, stationed on the...


Solar panel repair set for Saturday
Posted: Fri, Nov 2 6:35 AM ET (1035 GMT)
NASA will attempt on Saturday to repair a torn solar panel on the International Space Station during what is considered a potentially hazardous EVA. During...


NASA to attempt ISS solar panel repair
Posted: Thu, Nov 1 6:36 AM ET (1036 GMT)
NASA has delayed a spacewalk planned to day to prepare for an attempted repair of a torn solar panel on the International Space Station. Thursday'...





Friday, May 9

Monday, March 10
Third grade class honors flag's return from space with poem
Redding (CT) Pilot — 10:37 pm ET (0237 GMT)

Saturday, February 23

Thursday, January 10
Astronauts visit to offer their thanks
Huntsville Times — 5:59 am ET (1059 GMT)

Tuesday, December 18
NASA astronauts discuss space shuttle journey at Plum Brook
Sandusky (OH) Register — 2:01 pm ET (1901 GMT)

Saturday, December 15

Friday, December 14
John C. Stennis Space Center plays host to some special guests
Southern Mississippi Picayune Item — 12:36 pm ET (1736 GMT)
Space team visits Stennis
Biloxi (MS) Sun Herald — 4:59 am ET (0959 GMT)

Thursday, November 15
President personally welcomes astronauts
Bay Area (TX) Citizen — 5:58 pm ET (2258 GMT)

Wednesday, November 14
Stanford alumnus takes risky spacewalk
Stanford Daily — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)




Return to the spacetoday.net home page



about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list