spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Maiden Atlas 5 launch a success
Posted: Wed, Aug 21, 2002, 9:46 PM ET (0146 GMT)
Atlas 5 liftoff The inaugural flight of the Atlas 5 booster was declared a success late Wednesday when it successfully launched a communications satellite. The Atlas 5 lifted off on schedule at 6:05 pm EDT (2205 GMT) from the new Launch Complex 41 at Cape Canaveral, Florida. The rocket's payload, Eutelsat's Hot Bird 6 satellite, separated from the Atlas's Centaur upper stage 31 minutes after launch. Both the countdown and the launch itself were virtually flawless, with the launch vehicle performing exactly as expected. The launch was the first for the Atlas 5, developed as part of the US Air Force's Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) program. The other EELV booster, Boeing's Delta 4, is scheduled to fly in October.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list