spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery lifts off on STS-102 mission
Posted: Thu, Mar 8, 2001, 8:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
Discovery liftoff on STS-102 The space shuttle Discovery lifted off Thursday morning on a mission to replace the crew of the International Space Station. Mission STS-102 got underway with a flawless launch at 6:42 am EST (1142 GMT) from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida after a virtually problem-free countdown. Discovery is scheduled to dock with ISS at 12:32 am EST (0532 GMT) Saturday, March 10. The primary purpose of the mission is to replace the existing Expedition One crew on ISS, Bill Shepherd, Sergei Krikalev and Yuri Gidzenko, with the Expedition Two crew, Yuri Usachev, James Voss, and Susan Helms, who lifted off aboard Discovery. The shuttle also carries supplies and equipment for the station in an Italian-built Multi-Purpose Logistics Module dubbed "Leonardo", the first flight of such a module. That equipment will be used to help outfit the Destiny lab module added to the station during the STS-98 mission last month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list