spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Thu, Mar 8, 2001, 7:58 PM ET (0058 GMT)
BSAT-2a illustration from Orbital An Ariane 5 booster successfully launched two European and Japanese communications satellites Thursday evening. The Ariane 5, designated Ariane 509, lifted off on Flight 140 at 5:51 pm EST (2251 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana. The booster placed into geosynchronous transfer orbit Eurobird, a satellite built by Alcatel Space for Eutelsat that will provide additional entertainment and business communications services for Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. The booster also launched BSAT-2a, a spacecraft built by Orbital Sciences Corporation that will provide direct television broadcast services for the Japanese company B-SAT. The launch was the third of the year for Arianespace and the first this year for the heavy-lift Ariane 5.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list