spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks to station after minor problem
Posted: Sat, Mar 10, 2001, 8:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)
STS-102 logo A problem with solar panels delayed the docking of the space shuttle Discovery with the International Space Station early Saturday by more than a hour. Discovery was set to dock with ISS at 12:34 am EST (0534 GMT) but was forced to hold position 120 meters from the station when two solar arrays on the station failed to lock in an edge-on position to avoid damage from the shuttle's thrusters. The arrays were eventually locked into place but the problem delayed the docking until 1:38 am EST (0638 GMT). Hatches between the shuttle and station were opened for a few hours overnight to permit the first crew exchange to take place, as Expedition Two commander Yuri Usachev boarded the station, taking the place of Expedition One crew member Yuri Gidzenko. The next major event of the mission is scheduled for Saturday night, when astronauts James Voss and Susan Helms perform the first of two EVAs scheduled for the mission. During the six-hour spacewalk, scheduled to begin at 11:47 pm EST (0447 GMT), the astronauts will remove a shuttle docking port from the Unity module, freeing it up for the addition of the Leonardo cargo module later in the mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list