spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts wrap up station spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Mar 11, 2001, 9:33 AM ET (1433 GMT)
STS-102 logo Two astronauts completed the first of two spacewalks scheduled for the STS-102 mission outside the International Space Station early Sunday. Astronauts James Voss and Susan Helms started the EVA at 12:12 am EST (0512 GMT) and was not expected to end until after 8:30 am EST (1330 GMT). The primary purpose of the spacewalk was to install equipment on the exterior of the Destiny module in preparation for a robot arm that will be added to the station on another shuttle mission next month. The astronauts also made preparations to move a shuttle docking port from the nadir (Earth-facing) port of the Unity module to another on the left side, to clear the nadir port for the installation of the Leonardo cargo module Sunday night. The docking port was moved by the shuttle's robot arm at the end of the spacewalk, although that maneuver was delayed by extra work needed to configure the Space Vision System for the reattachment of the docking port. The spacewalk at times ran an hour behind schedule, as Voss and Helms encountered difficulties connecting an umbilical line as well as the loss of a portable attachment device that floated away early in the spacewalk. Because of this a few activities scheduled for Sunday's EVA were moved back to the second spacewalk on Monday night by Andy Thomas and Paul Richards.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list