spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle crew attaches cargo module to ISS
Posted: Mon, Mar 12, 2001, 8:10 AM ET (1310 GMT)
Leonard module installed to ISS The crew of the space shuttle Discovery attached the Leonardo cargo module to the International Space Station in the early morning hours Monday. Astronaut Andy Thomas used the shuttle's robot arm to maneuver the Italian-built module out of the shuttle's cargo bay, attaching it to the nadir (Earth-facing) docking port on the Unity module at 1:02 am EST (0602 GMT) Monday. The module carries five tons of equipment, including experiments for the station's new Destiny lab module and supplies for the station's crew. Hatches between the station and shuttle were opened for several hours overnight as well, allowing Expedition Two astronaut James Voss to officially transfer from the shuttle to the station, replacing Expedition One cosmonaut Sergei Krikalev. The major event of the STS-102 mission will be Monday night, when Thomas and Paul Richards perform the second of two spacewalks scheduled for the mission, wrapping up unfinished work from the first spacewalk early Sunday and handing other work outside the station, including an external stowage platform and a replacement pump flow control system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 15
First Man can't launch past Venom and A Star Is Born at the box office
Entertainment Weekly — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list