spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Two supermassive black holes found in same galaxy
Posted: Wed, Nov 20, 2002, 8:35 AM ET (1335 GMT)
Black holes in NGC 6240 (NASA/CXC/MPE/S.Komossa et al.) Astronomers announced Tuesday that they have discovered for the first time two supermassive black holes in the same galaxy, objects that will likely collide in the distant future. Astronomers used images from the Chandra X-Ray Observatory to find that the galaxy NGC 6240, about 400 million light-years away, has two bright objects in its core. Previous observations at other wavelengths had detected two bright nuclei, but this was the first time the distinct nuclei were found in x-ray wavelengths, indicating that both were active black holes. The twin black holes may result from the recent merger of two smaller galaxies. The two black holes are expected to collide and merge over the next few hundred million years; the collision will generate gravitational waves that will spread across the universe.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 10
UAE on track for Mars Mission 2021
Khaleej Times — 5:39 am ET (1039 GMT)
Buzz Aldrin: A global statesman for space
Starkville (MS) Daily News — 5:38 am ET (1038 GMT)
UCLA welcomes new course on the search for extraterrestrial life
UCLA Daily Bruin — 5:36 am ET (1036 GMT)
Launched to the stars and future
Lompoc Record — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Edgar Mitchell's Revelation
The Atlantic — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list