spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown restarted for STS-113 launch
Posted: Wed, Nov 20, 2002, 1:25 PM ET (1825 GMT)
STS-113 pach (NASA) NASA restarted the countdown late Tuesday night for the launch of the shuttle Endeavour, but shuttle managers have yet to make a final decision regarding a Friday night launch attempt. The countdown restarted Tuesday night in order for the shuttle to be ready for a launch between 7 and 11 pm EST Friday (0000 and 0400 GMT Saturday) on STS-113. A meeting is planned for Wednesday evening to go over the status of the shuttle's robot arm, damaged in a pad accident last week, and a final decision on plans for the launch should be announced at the conclusion of the meeting. Officials are weighing whether the arm can fly as-is, or should be repaired or removed on the pad. The latter options would require delaying the launch until early December. There is an 80 percent chance of acceptable weather for a Friday night launch attempt.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list