spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Overseas weather scrubs shuttle launch
Posted: Sat, Nov 23, 2002, 12:02 AM ET (0502 GMT)
STS-113 pach (NASA) The launch of the space shuttle Endeavour was delayed 24 hours Friday night because of poor weather at two transatlantic landing sites. NASA had hoped to launch Endeavour on mission STS-113 at 8:15 pm EST Friday (0115 GMT Saturday), and weather conditions at the Cape were excellent and no technical problems were reported. However, the two landing sites that would be used for transatlantic abort scenarios, in Moron and Zaragosa, Spain, had clouds and rain that prohibited their use. Thus, with no transatlantic abort sites available, NASA scrubbed the launch at the T-9 minute mark. NASA has rescheduled the launch for Saturday at 7:50 pm EST (0050 GMT Sunday), but the weather in Spain is forecast to continue to be poor.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list