spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 2A launches TDRS-J
Posted: Thu, Dec 5, 2002, 9:21 AM ET (1421 GMT)
Atlas 2A launch of TDRS-J (NASA/KSC) The final Atlas 2A rocket successfully launched the last in the current series of NASA communications satellites Wednesday night. The Lockheed Martin Atlas 2A lifted off on schedule at 9:42 pm EST Wednesday (0242 GMT Thursday) from pad 36A at Cape Canaveral, Florida. It released the Boeing-built Tracking and Data Relay Satellite-J (TDRS-J) spacecraft into a geosynchronous transfer orbit about 30 minutes later. The spacecraft is the last of three next-generation satellites that NASA will use to communicate with space shuttles, ISS, the Hubble Space Telescope, and other Earth-orbiting spacecraft. The new TDRS spacecraft are expected to operate through at least 2012. The launch was the last for the Atlas 2A booster, introduced in June 1992; all 23 of its flights were successful. The Atlas 2AS, the version of the Atlas 2A with four strap-on boosters, has five more missions left before it is retired in favor of the Atlas 3 and 5, according to Spaceflight Now.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list