spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA scrubs Thursday shuttle landing
Posted: Thu, Dec 5, 2002, 1:39 PM ET (1839 GMT)
STS-113 pach (NASA) NASA shuttle managers decided Thursday morning not to make any landing attempts of the shuttle Endeavour on Thursday because of poor weather in Florida. NASA had two opportunities to land the shuttle Thursday afternoon at the Kennedy Space Center, but forecasts of rain, clouds, and wind led managers to decide not to try either opportunity, choosing to conserve propellant for future landing attempts. NASA is planning to try to bring the shuttle down in Florida again on Friday, with two chances at 1:57 and 3:33 pm EST (1857 and 2033 GMT), but the forecast for Friday remains uncertain. There are no plans to land the shuttle at Edwards Air Force Base in California on Friday, but that site could be activated for a Saturday landing attempt, if needed. Endeavour has enough supplies to remain in orbit through at least Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list