spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Leonardo returned to shuttle after computer concerns addressed
Posted: Sun, Mar 18, 2001, 10:45 AM ET (1545 GMT)
Leonard module installed to ISS The Leonardo cargo module was moved from the International Space Station back into the shuttle Discovery's cargo bay early Sunday. The module was undocked from ISS at 5:42 am EST (1042 GMT) and rebirthed in the shuttle's cargo bay a little under 90 minutes later. The move took place several hours later than planned, in part because the shuttle crew had to check for possible problems with the orbiter's main computers. Two of the shuttle's four main computers were turned on Saturday to generate additional heat for a coolant system that was getting too hold. However, the two computers were turned on too quickly, leading to concerns that their software had been corrupted, which would require an unprecedented reloading of their flight software. Extensive tests Saturday night showed that there were no problems with the computers, though. The shuttle remains on schedule to undock from the station Sunday night at 11:32 pm EST (0432 GMT), with landing scheduled for 12:55 am EST (0555 GMT) Wednesday at the Kennedy Space Center.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list