spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch places radio satellite in orbit
Posted: Sun, Mar 18, 2001, 7:51 PM ET (0051 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch A Sea Launch Zenit-3SL booster launched a commercial radio broadcast satellite Sunday afternoon. The rocket lifted off on schedule at 5:33 pm EST (2233 GMT) March 18 from its floating launch pad on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean southeast of Hawaii. Its payload, the XM-2 "Rock" communications satellite, separated 66 minutes after launch and successful contact was made with it in geosynchronous transfer orbit a few minutes later. XM-2, a Boeing 702 communications satellite, will be used by XM Satellite Radio to provide premium radio broadcasts for consumers in the United States. A second spacecraft, XM-1 or "Roll", was to have been launched on another Zenit-3SL in January but that launch was postponed after a last-minute scrub triggered by a satellite glitch forced the rocket to return to port for an overhaul; that launch has been rescheduled for May. The launch is the first this year for the multinational Sea Launch consortium, led by Boeing.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Lunar outpost in 5 years? 2 companies unveil plans
My News 13 Orlando — 6:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ULA, Bigelow plan to place inflatable space habitat near moon by 2022
Denver Business Journal — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Virgin Galactic CEO to speak at Dubai Airshow
Arabian Business — 6:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
Elon Musk's 4 Success Mantras From SpaceX And Tesla
Forbes.com — 6:36 am ET (1036 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list