spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sun produces another powerful solar flare
Posted: Sun, Apr 15, 2001, 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)
Solar flare seen on 2001 April 15 A powerful solar flare recorded Sunday should not pose a major threat to the Earth despite being one of the strongest ever recorded. The flare erupted from an active region on the western limb of the Sun, labeled 9415, at 9:50 am EDT (1350 GMT). The flare was classified as an X14 on the scale of solar flare strengths, making it the fifth most powerful flare recorded since statistics on x-ray solar flares were started 25 years ago. Because the flare erupted from a region near the limb of the Sun as seen from Earth, most of the flare's energy was directed away from the Earth, lessening the effect the flare will have on the Earth. Sunday's flare is the latest event in a period of very high solar activity: the most powerful flare ever recorded, an X20-class, took place early this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list