spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-100 countdown begins
Posted: Tue, Apr 17, 2001, 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)
STS-100 patch The countdown towards Thursday's launch of the space shuttle Endeavour began Monday evening. Countdown clocks started at the T-43 hour mark at 6 pm EDT (2200 GMT) Monday; counting built-in holds, the countdown will reach zero at 2:41 pm EDT (1841 GMT) Thursday. There are no reports of any technical issues that could delay the launch, and meteorologists are forecasting only a 10 percent chance of unacceptable weather for the launch. The main goal of the STS-100 mission is to deliver and install a Canadian-built robot arm on the exterior of the International Space Station. The shuttle will also ferry cargo to the station using the Italian-built Raffaello cargo module, a twin of the Leonardo cargo module used on the last shuttle mission. The seven-man STS-100 crew, who arrived at the Kennedy Space Center Monday, represents four nations: the United States, Canada, Italy, and Russia. Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield will perform the first spacewalk ever by a Canadian during the mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list