spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour lands in California
Posted: Tue, May 1, 2001, 1:21 PM ET (1721 GMT)
Endeavour landing at Edwards AFB at end of STS-100 (NASA) The space shuttle Endeavour successfully landed in California Tuesday after weather forced the shuttle to divert from a planned Florida landing. Endeavour touched down at Edwards Air Force Base, California at 12:10 pm EDT (1610 GMT), completing mission STS-100. The shuttle had been scheduled to land at the Kennedy Space Center but clouds, wind, and rain at the Florida landing site required shuttle managers to wave off two landing attempts there and opt instead for the Edwards landing, which took place under good weather conditions. The landing is the third time in the last five missions that weather has forced the shuttle to divert to Edwards after a string of consecutive landings in Florida lasting four and a half years. The California landing will add a week to the shuttle's processing time, and cost NASA about $1 million, as the shuttle is ferried back to Florida atop a 747.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list