spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Poor weather diverts Endeavour to California
Posted: Tue, May 1, 2001, 9:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
STS-100 patch Bad weather at the Kennedy Space Center has forced NASA to divert the space shuttle Endeavour to California for a landing later Tuesday. A combination of clouds, wind, and rain led shuttle managers to wave off two landing attempts at KSC Tuesday morning, opting instead for a landing attempt at 12:11 pm EDT (1611 GMT) at Edwards Air Force Base, where weather conditions are good. This will mark the third time in the last five missions that the shuttle has been forced to land at Edwards because of poor weather at KSC after a streak of four and a half years of consecutive landings at KSC. Landings in Florida are preferred since a California landing costs NASA a week and $1 million as the shuttle must be ferried by 747 back to KSC. Endeavour is returning to complete mission STS-100, where the seven-man crew helped install a Canadian-built robotic arm to the exterior of the International Space Station and ferried supplies to the orbiting outpost.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 19
Spacecom returns to SpaceX to launch 2 satellites
Globes Online — 5:39 am ET (0939 GMT)
Space: Marketing's Final Frontier
AdAge.com — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
US and Luxembourg frame laws for new space race
Financial Times — 5:35 am ET (0935 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list