spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Tito, Soyuz arrive at space station
Posted: Mon, Apr 30, 2001, 8:27 AM ET (1227 GMT)
Soyuz TM-31 docked at ISS A Russian Soyuz spacecraft carrying space tourist Dennis Tito docked with the International Space Station early Monday. The Soyuz TM-32 spacecraft also called "Soyuz 2" by NASA docked at ISS at 3:58 am EDT (0758 GMT); hatches between the Soyuz and station opened 90 minutes later. Tito appeared to be in high spirits as he boarded the station and met the Expedition Two crew, saying "I love space!" Tito said he was feeling well, so much so that Soyuz commander Talgat Musabayev said that Tito looked "10 years younger", although Russian mission control officials said that Tito did suffer some vomiting associated with space adaptation syndrome on Sunday. Tito, Musabayev, and Yuri Baturin will remain on the station until Saturday, moving equipment between the new Soyuz spacecraft and the older Soyuz that they'll use to depart the station, returning to Earth two days later.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list