spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch puts second XM Radio satellite in orbit
Posted: Wed, May 9, 2001, 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch of XM-1 A Zenit-3SL launcher successfully delivered the second of two XM Radio broadcasting satellites Tuesday evening. The booster lifted off at 6:10 pm EDT (2210 GMT) from the Sea Launch floating launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean southeast of Hawaii. It successfully placed in geosynchronous transfer orbit the XM-1 "Roll" spacecraft a little over an hour after launch. XM-1 joins its twin, XM-2, or "Rock", which was put in orbit by Sea Launch in March. The two spacecraft, both Boeing 702 models, will be used by XM Satellite Radio to provide digital radio broadcasts to subscribers across the continental United States; the company anticipates beginning commercial service later this year. XM-1 was to be launched in January but was delayed when a false alarm on the satellite triggered a last-second abort that required bring the rocket back to the Sea Launch home port of Long Beach, California for refurbishment.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list