spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Another successful test flight for the X-40A
Posted: Wed, May 9, 2001, 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)
X-40A drop test The X-40A experimental vehicle completed its fifth NASA test flight on Tuesday. The vehicle was released from a helicopter at an altitude of 4,580 meters above Edwards Air Force Base, California at 9:51 am EDT (1351 GMT) Tuesday and landed on the runway below two minutes later. This flight, the fifth in a series conducted by NASA, tested the vehicle's ability to maneuver into a straight landing approach even when released off the centerline, as well as make a series of pitch adjustments during flight. One or two more drop test flights of the X-40A, built by Boeing and on loan from the Air Force, are planned. The X-40A, originally built as a prototype of a proposed military Space Maneuver Vehicle, is an 85-percent scale model of NASA's X-37, a prototype of a space station crew return vehicle.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list