spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Stardust can see clearly now, the contamination is gone
Posted: Fri, Jan 12, 2001, 4:41 PM ET (2141 GMT)
Stardust Earth flyby NASA reported Thursday that efforts to remove contamination that had fogged a camera on the comet-bound Stardust spacecraft had succeeded. Engineers had spent the last several months heating the optics of the spacecraft's main camera in an effort to remove contaminants -- thought to be condensed gases that escaped from the spacecraft after launch -- that had reduced the quality of the spacecraft's images. Left uncorrected, the problem would have affected both science and navigation of the spacecraft when it flies by the comet Wild-2 in 2004. The announcement comes just before a January 15 flyby of Earth by Stardust that will put the spacecraft on course for the comet: closest approach is scheduled for 6:15 am EST (1115 UT) over southernmost Africa.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list