spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft for ISS
Posted: Mon, May 21, 2001, 1:07 PM ET (1707 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Russian Soyuz booster successfully launched a Progress spacecraft carrying supplies for the International Space Station late Sunday. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur at 6:32 pm EDT (2232 GMT) and placed into orbit the Progress M1-6 cargo spacecraft. The Progress is scheduled to dock with ISS at 8:23 pm EDT Tuesday (0023 GMT Wednesday). The unmanned spacecraft is carrying food and equipment for the station, including a replacement hard drive for one of the station's computers, as well as 900 kg of propellant that will be used to maintain the station's orbit. The launch is also the first for a new variant of the Soyuz, the Soyuz FG. The Soyuz FG features modernized engines in its first and second stages that will also be used in a commercial version of the Soyuz, Soyuz/ST, being developed by the French-Russian joint venture Starsem.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list