spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Galileo ready for last Callisto flyby
Posted: Tue, May 22, 2001, 3:18 PM ET (1918 GMT)
Galileo at Jupiter illustration NASA is preparing for the Galileo spacecraft's final and closest flyby of Jupiter's moon Callisto on Friday. Galileo will pass just 123 km from the surface of Callisto at 7:24 am EDT (1124 GMT) May 25. The close flyby of the moon is primarily designed to put the spacecraft on course for a series of flybys of Io, the innermost of Jupiter's large Galilean moons, later this year. However, cameras and other instruments on the spacecraft will examine the moon, the outermost Galilean satellite, in detail during the flyby. This includes taking high-resolution images of the surface to measure the density of small craters which may give planetary scientists clues to the history of the moon's bombardment by asteroids and comets over the last four billion years. The flyby will be the 31st close pass to a Galilean moon since the spacecraft arrived at Jupiter in December 1995, and the eighth of Callisto. NASA plans three more flybys of Io and one of the smaller inner moon Amalthea before the mission ends in 2003.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, September 22
D.C. Digest: Sen. Inhofe mulls space force proposal
Tulsa World — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)
SpaceX’s Moon Trip Is the Ultimate Artist Residency
The Atlantic — 9:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Astronaut foresees coming boost in NASA interest
FederalNewsRadio.com — 9:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list