spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew completes first spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 9, 2001, 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
ISS after STS-98 mission Two members of the International Space Station Expedition Two crew completed their first spacewalk Friday, installing a docking apparatus in a section of the station. Cosmonaut Yuri Usachev and astronaut James Voss completed the internal spacewalk within a depressurized portion of the Zvezda module in just 19 minutes, starting at 10:21 am EDT (1421 GMT) Friday. The purpose of the spacewalk was to install a docking cone in the nadir (Earth-facing) port of a spherical transfer compartment at the forward end of the module. This docking cone will allow a Russian airlock and docking module to be attached there later this year. The spacewalk went smoothly and look far less time than the 30-40 minutes station managers had estimated. The third member of the Expedition Two crew, Susan Helms, monitored the spacewalk from the Zarya module. The crew and engineers on the ground continue to struggle with the station's robotic arm, whose problems have delayed the launch of the STS-104 shuttle mission until at least July 7. Florida Today reported Saturday that the computer problems with the arm, which seemed to go away earlier in the week, reappeared briefly late Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list