spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 4 launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 9, 2001, 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)
Intelsat 901 spacecraft illustration An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched an Intelsat communications satellite early Saturday after a one-day delay. The Ariane 44L lifted off on Flight 141 at 2:45 am EDT (0645 GMT) Saturday and placed the Intelsat 901 spacecraft into a geosynchronous transfer orbit about 20 minutes after launch. The launch took place one day later than planned after high upper-altitude winds forced flight controllers to postpone Friday morning's launch attempt. Intelsat 901, built by Space Systems/Loral, will provide C-band coverage of the Atlantic Ocean region and spot Ku-band coverage of Europe. The spacecraft is the first of ten "next-generation" satellites Intelsat plans to put into orbit between now and 2003. Saturday's launch is the first for Arianespace since an Ariane 5 launched two communications satellites three months ago; the next launch, also of an Ariane 5, is scheduled for July 12.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list