spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew completes spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Mar 28, 2005, 1:49 PM ET (1849 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) The two-man crew of the International Space Station performed a spacewalk Monday morning, successfully wrapping up their work well ahead of schedule. Leroy Chiao and Salizhan Sharipov started their four-hour, 30-minute spacewalk at 1:25 am EST (0625 GMT), exiting the station from the Pirs airlock module on the Russian section of the station. The major purpose of the EVA was to install communications and navigation equipment on the exterior of the Zvezda service module that will be used by Europe's Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV), an unmanned cargo spacecraft whose first flight to the station is planned for next year. The spacewalkers also manually deployed a five-kilogram Russian-built nanosatellite. The crew finished their spacewalk about 90 minutes ahead of schedule, having successfully completed all their tasks. The EVA was the second and final spacewalk for the Expedition 10 crew, who will return to Earth next month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list