spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit 3SL launches Spaceway satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 26, 2005, 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
Zenit 3SL launch of Estrela do Sul (Boeing) A Sea Launch Zenit 3SL successfully launched a heavy TV broadcasting satellite early Tuesday. The Zenit 3SL lifted off from its floating platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 3:31 am EDT (0731 GMT). It placed the Spaceway 1 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit 30 minutes later. The satellite, a Boeing 702, weighed in at 6,080 kg, making it the heaviest commercial communications satellite ever launched. The satellite was originally intended to provide high-speed data services, but instead will be used by owner DirecTV to provide local HD television programming. A second Spaceway satellite is scheduled for launch later this year on an Ariane 5. The launch is the second this year for Sea Launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list