spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Foton capsule returns to Earth
Posted: Thu, Jun 16, 2005, 9:06 PM ET (0106 GMT)
Foton-M2 illustration (ESA) A Russian capsule carrying experiments that flew in space for over two weeks safely returned to Earth early Thursday. The capsule from the Foton-M2 spacecraft landed 137 km from the Kazakh city of Kostanay, at a location near the Russian border, at 3:37 am EDT (0737 GMT). Foton-M2 was launched on May 31 and spent over two weeks in Earth orbit; the spacecraft carried a suite of experiments, including 39 provided by the European Space Agency. Some of those experiments were reflights of similar investigations lost on the Foton-M1 launch failure in 2002. Another Foton mission, Foton-M3, is planned for 2007, also with ESA participation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 24
Kuwaiti youth eager to put country on space exploration map
Kuwait News Agency — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)
Opinion: Time to stop throwing good money after longshot aerospace investments
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:21 am ET (0921 GMT)
Japan's hopping space rovers land on asteroid
Sky News — 5:19 am ET (0919 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list