spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russian military launch fails
Posted: Tue, Jun 21, 2005, 8:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
Molniya launch vehicle illustration (Energia) A Russian rocket carrying a military communications satellite failed shortly after launch early Tuesday, crashing in Siberia. The Molniya-M rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 8:49 pm EDT Monday (0049 GMT Tuesday) carrying a Molniya-3K communications satellite. About six minutes after liftoff, however, the rocket's third stage engine failed. Russian officials said they weren't sure initially if the problem was with the third stage engine itself or if the stage failed to separate from the second stage. The upper stages of the rocket and the satellite then crashed in the Tyumen region of western Siberia. The launch failure is the first this year worldwide, and the first for the Molniya-M booster, a variant of the Soyuz booster, in 15 years.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list